· Services

Mergers & Acquisitions, Private Equity and Venture Capital.

Our counsel encompasses all matters regarding the formation, acquisition and sale of companies. We assist our clients in structuring, due diligence and the drafting of all transaction documents. We organize sales procedures and mergers and lead negotiations for our clients. In the private equity sector, we assist our clients in all types of buy-in and buy-out transactions, restructurings and exits. In the venture capital sector, entrepreneurs and investors mandate us in connection with the formation, structuring and expansion of start-up companies.


Partnership Law and Corporate Law.

We advise national and international companies, their managing bodies and their shareholders in all aspects of corporate law. This includes all types of partnership law, including limited partnerships (Kommanditgesellschaften) and commercial partnerships ("& Co. KGs"), stock corporation law, law pertaining to German GmbHs and groups of companies as well as joint ventures and the ongoing management of corporate law agreements. We assist our clients in the formation of companies and later restructuring thereof, the drafting of corporate governance documents as well as all structural and capital measures. This includes, inter alia, transformations, mergers, and de-mergers as well as the conclusion and implementation of contracts between business enterprises. We help in the preparation and execution of shareholders' and general meetings. For listed companies, this also includes the complete management of the meetings, dealing with critical shareholders and publication and reporting duties in accordance with the German Securities Trading Act and the Corporation Act.


Dispute Resolution.

We advise and represent our clients in corporate and commercial disputes. Our field of work encompasses pre-litigation negotiations and dispute resolution as well as court and arbitration proceedings.


Privatizations and Public Private Partnerships.

We advise the public sector and German and foreign investors with regard to privatizations and public private partnerships. Our counsel encompasses in particular preparatory restructurings such as transformations, split-ups and spin-offs as well as the drafting of share purchase, investment and shareholders’ agreements. We furthermore advise with regard to operator, management and commissioning models, financing structures and on basic budgetary, fiscal and administrative law matters. We have particular experience with public utilities and waste disposal, savings banks (Sparkassen) and banks of the federal states (Landesbanken) and the infrastructure sector.


Regulated Markets.

We advise our clients in their involvement in regulated markets and assist them in their dealings with authorities. Our counsel encompasses matters of administrative law, security and risk management as well as aspects pertaining to the access to limited resources and the monitoring of competitors. We have particular experience in bank regulatory law, air traffic law, public utilities and waste disposal law and emissions trading law, including the conceptualization and execution of international climate protection projects. We assist our clients in dealing with emissions rights in business transactions and in insolvency proceedings.


Restructuring and Insolvency Counsel.

We assist debtors and creditors, managing directors and shareholders as well as insolvency administrators in all types of insolvency and recapitalization transactions. We use our many years of experience in insolvency administration to the benefit of our clients. As a preventive measure, we assist our clients in the structuring of insolvency-proof agreements. We advise with regard to the creation and enforcement of security, the development of recapitalization concepts and the necessary restructuring measures in crisis situations and insolvency. We have proven experience in financial structuring such as debt-equity swaps and the sale of non-performing loans as well as acquisition out of insolvency. We have a profound track record of transactions regarding cross-border insolvency, inter alia involving European insolvency law.


Insolvency Administration.

We have extensive experience winding up corporate insolvencies in various industries and on a range of scales, including listed stock corporations. One partner of the firm has been an insolvency administrator for several years. All partners have sustained professional experience in complex insolvency and restructuring cases. Our goal is to preserve companies and jobs and satisfy creditors as best as possible. We use the leeway of the Insolvency Code to do so, - ranging from the recapitalization through the transfer of business to another company to insolvency planning procedure. SJPP conducts its insolvency administration services through an independent partnership, the Schmidt-Jortzig Petersen Penzlin Insolvenzverwaltung GbR.


Special Proceedings in Public Law.

We assist enterprises, associations, political parties and parliamentary groups in attending legislative procedures as well as in the legal assessment of enacted statutes. This includes the preparation of constitutional and administrative law opinions as well as representation before courts. SjPP has worked predominately in the fields of bank regulatory, energy and climate protection, hunting and nature conservation, medical engineering, the law of public banks and in insurance law.

· Services

Mergers & Acquisitions, Private Equity und Venture Capital.

Unsere Beratung umfasst alle Fragen der Gründung, des Erwerbs und der Veräußerung von Unternehmen. Wir unterstützen unsere Mandanten bei der gesamten Strukturierung, der Due Diligence und der Erstellung sämtlicher Transaktionsdokumente. Wir gestalten Verkaufsverfahren sowie Unternehmenszusammenschlüsse und übernehmen für unsere Mandanten die Verhandlungsführung. Im Bereich Private Equity begleiten wir unsere Mandanten bei allen Arten von Buy-In und Buy-Out Transaktionen, der Restrukturierung und des Exits. Im Venture Capital Segment mandatieren uns Unternehmer und Investoren im Zusammenhang mit dem Aufbau, der Strukturierung und der Expansion von Start-Up Unternehmen.


Personen- und Kapitalgesellschaftsrecht.

Wir beraten nationale und internationale Unternehmen, deren Organe und ihre Gesellschafter in allen Aspekten des Gesellschaftsrechts. Dies umfasst das gesamte Personengesellschaftsrecht, insbesondere das Recht der Kommanditgesellschaften und der „& Co. KGs“, das Aktien-, GmbH- und Konzernrecht sowie Joint Ventures und das laufende Management gesellschaftsrechtlicher Vereinbarungen. Wir assistieren bei der Gründung von Gesellschaften und späteren Umstrukturierungen, der Gestaltung von Unternehmensverfassungen sowie sämtlichen Struktur- und Kapitalmaßnahmen. Hierzu zählen unter anderem Umwandlungen, Verschmelzungen und Spaltungen sowie der Abschluss und die Implementierung von Unternehmensverträgen. Wir helfen bei der Vorbereitung und Durchführung von Gesellschafter- und Hauptversammlungen. Bei börsennotierten Gesellschaften schließt dies auch das gesamte Versammlungsmanagement, den Umgang mit kritischen Aktionären sowie die Melde- und Veröffentlichungspflichten nach dem Wertpapierhandels- und Aktiengesetz ein.


Streitbeilegung.

Wir beraten und vertreten Mandanten bei gesellschafts- und wirtschaftsrechtlichen Streitigkeiten. Die Interessen unserer Mandanten setzen wir sowohl in außergerichtlichen Verhandlungen und Streitbeilegungsverfahren als auch bei streitigen Gerichts- und Schiedsverfahren durch.


Privatisierungen und Public Private Partnerships.

Wir begleiten die öffentliche Hand sowie deutsche und ausländische Investoren bei Privatisierungen und Public Private Partnerships. Unsere Beratung umfasst insbesondere vorbereitende Umstrukturierungen wie Umwandlungen, Ausgliederungen, Auf- und Abspaltungen sowie die Erstellung von Unternehmenskauf-, Beteiligungs- und Konsortialverträgen. Wir beraten darüber hinaus bei Betreiber-, Betriebsführungs- und Beauftragungsmodellen, Finanzierungsstrukturen und in Fragen des Haushalts-, Abgaben- und Verwaltungsrechts. Wir verfügen über besondere Erfahrungen in den Bereichen der Ver- und Entsorgung, der Sparkassen und Landesbanken sowie der öffentlichen Infrastruktur.


Regulierte Märkte.

Wir begleiten unsere Mandanten bei ihren Engagements in regulierten Märkten und unterstützen sie im Umgang mit Behörden. Unsere Beratung umfasst Fragen des Verwaltungsrechts, der Sicherheit und der Gefahrenabwehr ebenso wie Aspekte des Zugangs zu begrenzten Ressourcen und der Wettbewerbsaufsicht. Besondere Erfahrungen haben wir im Bankaufsichtsrecht, dem Luftverkehrsrecht, dem Ver- und Entsorgungsrecht und dem Emissionshandelsrecht inklusive der Konzeption und Abwicklung internationaler Klimaschutzprojekte. Wir unterstützen unsere Mandanten bei der Behandlung von Emissionsrechten in Unternehmenstransaktionen und in Insolvenzverfahren.


Restrukturierungs- und Insolvenzberatung.

Wir begleiten Schuldner und Gläubiger, Geschäftsführer und Gesellschafter sowie Insolvenzverwalter in allen Insolvenz- und Sanierungsfällen. Dabei setzen wir unsere langjährige Erfahrung aus der Insolvenzverwaltung gewinnbringend für unsere Mandanten ein. Wir unterstützen präventiv bei der insolvenzfesten Gestaltung von Verträgen. Wir beraten bei der Bestellung und Durchsetzung von Sicherheiten, der Entwicklung von Sanierungskonzepten und den erforderlichen Restrukturierungsmaßnahmen in Krise und Insolvenz. Wir haben ausgewiesene Erfahrungen bei Finanzierungsgestaltungen wie Debt-Equity Swaps und der Veräußerung von notleidenden Krediten sowie dem Unternehmenskauf aus der Insolvenz. Wir verfügen über profunde Transaktionspraxis bei grenzüberschreitenden Insolvenzfällen, unter anderem im Bereich des europäischen Insolvenzrechts


Insolvenzverwaltung.

Wir verfügen über umfangreiche Erfahrungen aus der Abwicklung von Unternehmensinsolvenzen unterschiedlichster Branchen und Größenordnungen, einschließlich börsennotierter Aktiengesellschaften. Ein Partner der Sozietät ist seit mehreren Jahren als Insolvenzverwalter tätig. Alle Partner haben nachhaltige Berufspraxis aus komplexen Insolvenz- und Restrukturierungsfällen. Ziel unserer Tätigkeit ist der Erhalt von Unternehmen und Arbeitsplätzen bei bestmöglicher Befriedigung der Gläubiger. Wir nutzen hierzu die Gestaltungsspielräume der Insolvenzordnung – von der übertragenden Sanierung bis zum Insolvenzplanverfahren. SJPP betreibt die Insolvenzverwaltung in einer eigenständigen Gesellschaft – der Schmidt-Jortzig Petersen Penzlin Insolvenzverwaltung Partnerschaft von Rechtsanwälten mbB.


Öffentlich-rechtliche Spezialverfahren.

Wir unterstützen Unternehmen, Verbände, Parteien und Fraktionen bei der Begleitung von Gesetzgebungsverfahren sowie der rechtlichen Beurteilung bereits in Kraft getretener Gesetze. Dies schließt die Erstellung verfassungs- und regulierungsrechtlicher Gutachten sowie die gerichtliche Vertretung ein. In der Vergangenheit arbeitete SjPP v.a. im Bankaufsichtsrecht, Energie- und Klimaschutzrecht, Jagd- und Naturschutzrecht, dem Recht der Medizintechnik und der öffentlichen Banken sowie im Versicherungsrecht.